Home » The Boy Who Loved Books by John Sutherland
The Boy Who Loved Books John Sutherland

The Boy Who Loved Books

John Sutherland

Published
ISBN : 9780719564314
Hardcover
261 pages
Enter the sum

 About the Book 

This book is a memoir in the tradition of Lorna Sages Bad Blood and Blake Morrisons When Did You Last See Your Father? John Sutherlands childhood ended abruptly the day his father was killed at the beginning of World War Two - happily beforeMoreThis book is a memoir in the tradition of Lorna Sages Bad Blood and Blake Morrisons When Did You Last See Your Father? John Sutherlands childhood ended abruptly the day his father was killed at the beginning of World War Two - happily before he could kill any Germans. Johns widowed mother fell in love with a new man and decamped to Argentina, leaving John to be looked after by various relatives - some more suited to raising children than others. It was an odd, unsettled childhood and John took refuge in books. He quickly learned how to fit in without disturbing people, and, in doing so, began to store up resentments as a child. These resentments, with the trigger of alcohol in later life, would one day explode - serially and for many years. The Boy Who Loved Books is an account of a disrupted childhood, but it is also an account of one mans, often desperate, love affair with reading matter. Books in many ways changed his life, propelling him to university, and sustaining him in the dark times that were to come. It is also a record of the shifting twentieth century and the profound changes that shook society and its ways of dealing with children in the institutions of family, school and university.